There are many other Masonic orders known as appendant orders, which can be joined once the first three Craft degrees have been taken… listed below are just a few of them.

Note: Some orders are “invite only”.

Holy Royal Arch

In the English constitution, Holy Royal Arch is the continuation of Craft Freemasonry and is open to all Master Masons.  It’s members called Companions meet in Chapters and it is considered to be the completion of “pure ancient Masonry” and usually the first appendant order a Master Mason joins.

Besides the two craft lodges; Royal lodge and Portus Felix lodge, Filey is home to Royal Chapter number 643.  You can usually identify Royal Arch Masons, as they will normally wear the jewel of the Order with their Craft regalia.


Image of a triple tau, the symbol or Royal Arch Freemasons


The Tripple Tau, the symbol of Royal Arch Masonry

Knights Templar

Freemasonry originally had a Christian background and was worked in five degrees under a single Lodge Warrant. The first three degrees were what is today known as Craft masonry, the fourth Chapter, and the fifth Knights Templar.   Over time the Craft and Chapter lost their Christian base, however in the Knights Templar remain a Masonic and a Christian Order

Members are called Sir and Brother Knights and together form a Preceptory, Royal Preceptory 381 meets at Filey Masonic Hall.


Picture of the Knights templar seal

Knights Templar Seal

There is a longer list of  Masonic orders…which include:-

Red Cross of Constantine

Knight Templar Priests

Mark Master Masons

Royal Ark Mariners

Rose Croix

Order of Athelstan